An accident is unpredictable. So even if you stay cautious you may face one as well. It may be a just and accident, or maybe result of someone’s wrong intention.
A personal injury can cause you both physical and mental harm. But you got nothing to worry about. Personal injury law will make sure you get your right without hassle.
Types of Personal Injury in Denver
As I said before, personal injury can be both physical and mental. But personal injury is also categorized by the causing incident.
In Denver, most personal injury claims are about road accidents by a driver or maybe someone who was crossing the street. Half of the other injury types are physical damage caused by someone’s negligence. It can be a worker who got physically injured at a construction site. A physical injury may also be a doctor’s negligence for a patients care.
Other accidents are like sexual assault, getting mugged or maybe a criminal case as well. And some claims about them are for causing mental distress, e.g. emotional injury of a rape victim.
Damages caused by the above injuries are categorized as general and special damages.
- General Damage: Damage that can’t be measured by value. Such as pain or emotional disturbance.
- Special Damage: Damage that can be measured by a certain value. Such as loss of property, medical expense, repair cost etc.
In easy words one can be recovered with money, and the other is priceless.
Denver Personal Injury Law
Denver has some elaborate and complex laws for personal injury settlements. These key points are featured in the personal injury law of Denver.
- Comparative Fault Rule: Comparative fault rule is applicable where both parties are partially guilty. E.G. You were found 20% a fault in a case where your damage expense is US$1000. So you will receive US$800 comparative to 80% of US$1000.
- Deadlines: There is a deadline for reporting about an injury case at the court. In Denver, the deadline is two years for filing a lawsuit.
- Damage Caps: Denver usually caps non-economic damages between US$250,000 to US$500,000. But this is applicable only if any “convincingly clear evidence” is found.
Denver is the capital of the state of Colorado. And these terms are applicable for all the cities of Colorado, including Denver.
Should you call an attorney?
Sometimes we are afraid to take help from the law if we have our own fault in an accident. But personal injury law will protect you even if you think it was partially your fault. And calling a lawyer is not an unnecessary expense either. Because your attorney will only charge you 20%-30% of your total wins. So this is a comparatively fair amount.
Marcus Aurelius, a roman emperor, said that, “The best revenge is to be unlike him who performed the injury”. So if you face a personal injury then call a personal injury attorney after you get proper medical attention.
Author: Stephen Zee